Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The world is not my oyster, and I am not a powerful woman.  I am young, I can be silly, stupid and naive.  But that’s what is so great about being young.  I’m impulsive, because I can never make up my mind and stick with one decision, so I always just do things before I change my mind.

Sometimes, it really frustrates me because I feel that people tend to look down on me just because I am not very street smart, I can lack in common sense and I can be a little slow.  However that doesn’t mean I don’t know what I am talking about.

Just yesterday, I asked my friend to sign a petition to stop the two 10 storey apartments being built on the park, in our area.  One of my high school friends commented on this Facebook wall post:

They’re not building on the park…

In which case, I responded with a mere indifferent response, not hoping to get into any sorts of argument, and then he proceeded to say:

No but seriously, why oppose it if you know nothing about it?

That little comment got me a little agitated.  Did he really think that I would not have at least looked into a little of what I was signing the petition for?  Did he really think I was that dumb ?  So I may have been wrong about them building the apartments on the park, but the fact of the matter still stands that they are building an apartment in an area where they need to cut down mature trees, kill off animals habitats, and not to mention block off our roads, which are already at it’s peak in terms of how busy it is during the mornings and evenings.  But that wasn’t it, he thought he was more superior than me in this topic simply because he was studying architectural planning. 

Given that I am studying planning this is an area I’m sort of knowledgeable in. 

I’m studying drugs at the moment, but I don’t think I would get a say in a patients cancer chemotherapy sessions because I am still a mere amateur.  Maybe that comparison was a little off, however my point still stands valid.

It sucks when people think I am always this dumb girl.  

